Skip to content
0161 494 2836


Welcome to our Frequently Asked Questions page about the DGSA course!

To find out more about Enterprise Transport Training and the other courses we offer visit our main website.

How many DGSA exams do I need to take / pass?

In order to obtain the Dangerous Goods Safety Advisor qualification candidates will need to pass 3 exams in total. All candidates will be required to pass both;
-S001 Core
-S005 All Classes
As well as the two stated, candidates will be required to pass one of the following dependent on the field that they wish to apply the qualification in;
-S002 Road
-S003 Rail
-S004 Inland Waterways

How much do the DGSA exams cost and how do I apply?

Exam applications forms can be found here.
Once you have completed your form you can return it via email or post to the address at the bottom of the form.
The exams are subject to the following fees;
1 Subject – £105
2 Subjects – £210
3 Subjects – £285
4 Subjects – £390
If you submit your entry late (1 week after closing date) then you are subject to an additional £20 fee.

How long is each DGSA exam?

The following timings are attributed to each paper;

Core 09:30 – 10:45 (1 hour 15 minutes)
All Classes 11:15 – 13:00 (1 hour 45 minutes)
Road 14:00 – 15:45 (1 hour 45 minutes)
Rail / Inland Waterways 16:15 – 18:00 (1 hour 45 minutes)

If you arrive late, you may not be permitted to enter the examination room. You cannot leave the examination room during the first 30 minutes of an examination, or during the last 15 minute, unless you are ill.

If you leave because of illness, an invigilator must accompany you. You will be allowed to return to the examination room, provided you were supervised during your absence and your examination material remained in the examination room.

What material can I take in to the DGSA exams with me?

You must not take any books or sources of information, other than the permitted examination material, into the examination room. You will be disqualified if you are in possession of unauthorised material.

Authorized material can be found on your Resource Centre. Printed copies of material are permitted to be used in examinations provided they are bound and not loose.

How long do I have to wait for the results?

SQA will issue results no later than eight weeks after the examination date. You will be sent a letter showing your results in each subject. Results are identified on a pass or fail basis only. Marks are not issued to candidates. In no circumstances will SQA issue candidate’s results over the telephone.

What if I fail any of the exams?

If you have failed any DGSA examination(s), you can apply to SQA to sit again at any later examination date. However, you are advised to wait until you have your results before reapplying. You can hold any subject passes, but you must pass an appropriate combination of three papers within 12 months to qualify as a DGSA. If you do not, any passes become invalid and you will have to attempt the
subject(s) again.

How long does a DGSA VTC (Vocational Training Certificate) last and when do I need to renew it?

If you have passed three examinations – core, one mode and All Classes paper – you will be issued with a VTC, which you must sign and date when you receive it. Your VTC will be valid for five years, after which you will have to extend its validity if you wish to continue to operate as a DGSA. You can do this in the same way as gaining your original VTC up to 12 months before it expires.

What are DGSA exam dates in 2022 and 2023?

The exam dates for 2023 and 2024 are:

14th September 2023
23rd November 2023 
7th March 2024
13th June 2024
12th September 2024
21st November 2024

Click here to book your course.